Section 1, Module 1
In Progress


The jurisdiction is the judicial circuit that the notary is performing their notarial duties. A notary may perform notarial acts in any jurisdiction within the State of Hawaii in which they have registered their bond, commission, official seal, and signature. In Hawaii there are currently four judicial circuits.

  1. The First Judicial Circuit belongs to Honolulu County which includes the island of Oahu and all
    other islands not mentioned in the next three circuits.
  2. The Second Judicial Circuit belongs to Maui County which includes the islands of Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe, and Molokini.
  3. The Third Judicial Circuit belongs to Hawaii County which is the Island of Hawaii.
  4. The Fifth Judicial Circuit belongs to Kauai County which includes the islands of Kauai and Niihau.

Note that there is no Fourth Judicial Circuit listed above. The fourth judicial circuit was comprised of a portion of the Island of Hawaii and was merged into the third judicial circuit back in 1943.

HINT: Remember all of the Judicial Circuits.